Shabbat & Festival Calendar

Calendar

August 2017

  • Friday, August 18, 2017 - 6:30 pm

    Erev Shabbat Service & Guest Speaker Joan Garry

    6:30 pm

    “Getting Out of The Stands and Onto The Field:  Giving of your time and treasure with your head and your heart.”  Joan Garry, a nationally recognized nonprofit consultant, offers insights about the joy and privilege of volunteerism and philanthropy. Using her experience with clients as well as her role on the NBC reality show Give, Joan will connect her insights with our tradition of Tikkun Olum and place them in the context of a society anxious to play a role in repairing a fractured world.

    The Erev Shabbat service, led by Cantor Meredith Greenberg and Leora Perlman, will begin at 6:30 pm. A light nosh will precede the service at 6 pm.


  • Saturday, August 19, 2017 - 10:00 am

    Shabbat Morning Service

    10:00 am

    The Shabbat Morning Service, led by Morty Bernstein and Fred Pressman, will begin at 10 am. 


  • Friday, August 25, 2017 - 6:30 pm

    Erev Shabbat Service & Community Potluck Dinner

    6:30 pm

    The Erev Shabbat service, led by Derek Caney and Roger Segal, will begin at 6:30 pm. A light nosh will precede the service at 6 pm. Immediately following the service please join us for a community potluck dairy dinner. Please bring a dairy dish to share.


  • Saturday, August 26, 2017 - 10:00 am

    Shabbat Morning Service

    10:00 am

    The Shabbat Morning Service, led by Steven Lee and Norman Pollack, will begin at 10 am.


September 2017

  • Friday, September 1, 2017 - 6:30 pm

    Erev Shabbat Service & Guest Speaker Dr. Julie Blackman

    6:30 pm

    Dr. Julie Blackman, Social psychologist, Litigation Consultant, author and Ner Tamid member will discuss three critical and developing aspects of the trial process in our judicial system: (1) what trial strategy consultants do, (2) how jurors’ easy (but forbidden) access to internet information is affecting courtroom practice, and (3) the role of artificial intelligence in making legal decisions previously made by humans.


  • Saturday, September 2, 2017 - 10:00 am

    Shabbat Morning Service

    10:00 am

    The Shabbat Morning Service, led by Dan Herman and Stan Keyles, will begin at 10 am. 


  • Friday, September 8, 2017 - 8:00 pm

    Erev Shabbat Service with Guest Speakers Rabbis Hertzman and Perlmeter

    8:00 pm

    Rabbis Rachel Hertzman and Rex Perlmeter will be our guest speakers. 


  • Saturday, September 9, 2017 - 10:00 am

    Bat Mitzvah of Casey Goldberg

    10:00 am


  • Friday, September 15, 2017 - 8:00 pm

    Installation Shabbat

    8:00 pm

    Join us as we thank our newest Temple Board Executives and Trustees as well as thank those whose terms are finished. 


  • Saturday, September 16, 2017 - 10:00 am

    Casual Minyan

    10:00 am


  • Saturday, September 23, 2017 - 10:00 am

    Shabbat Morning Service

    10:00 am


October 2017

  • Friday, October 6, 2017 - 6:00 pm

    Tot Shabbat & Potluck Dinner

    6:00 pm


  • Friday, October 6, 2017 - 8:00 pm

    Erev Shabbat Service

    8:00 pm


  • Saturday, October 7, 2017 - 10:00 am

    Bat Mitzvah of Elinor Behlman

    10:00 am


  • Friday, October 13, 2017 - 8:00 pm

    Erev Shabbat Service with Scholar In Residence Rabbi David Elleson

    8:00 pm


  • Saturday, October 14, 2017 - 9:00 am

    Shabbat Morning Tot Shabbat

    9:00 am


  • Saturday, October 14, 2017 - 10:00 am

    Bat Mitzvah of Madeline Saraisky

    10:00 am


  • Friday, October 20, 2017 - 8:00 pm

    Erev Shabbat Service

    8:00 pm


  • Saturday, October 21, 2017 - 10:00 am

    Bat Mitzvah of Lucy Wexler

    10:00 am


  • Saturday, October 21, 2017 - 10:00 am

    Casual Minyan

    10:00 am


  • Friday, October 27, 2017 - 6:30 pm

    Kabbalat Shabbat Service

    6:30 pm


  • Saturday, October 28, 2017 - 10:00 am

    Shabbat Morning Service

    10:00 am


November 2017

  • Saturday, November 4, 2017 - 10:00 am

    Shabbat Morning Service

    10:00 am


  • Friday, November 10, 2017 - 8:00 pm

    Erev Shabbat Service with Guest Speaker Rabbi Leana Moritt

    8:00 pm


  • Saturday, November 11, 2017 - 9:00 am

    Saturday Morning Tot Shabbat

    9:00 am


  • Saturday, November 11, 2017 - 10:00 am

    Bar Mitzvah of Nicholas Baum

    10:00 am


  • Friday, November 17, 2017 - 8:00 pm

    Erev Shabbat Service

    8:00 pm


  • Saturday, November 18, 2017 - 10:00 am

    B'nai Mitzvah Bonding

    10:00 am


  • Saturday, November 18, 2017 - 10:00 am

    Casual Minyan

    10:00 am


  • Friday, November 24, 2017 - 6:30 pm

    Kabbalat Shabbat Service

    6:30 pm


  • Saturday, November 25, 2017 - 10:00 am

    Shabbat Morning Service

    10:00 am


December 2017

  • Friday, December 1, 2017 - 6:00 pm

    Tot Shabbat & Potluck Dinner

    6:00 pm


  • Friday, December 1, 2017 - 8:00 pm

    Erev Shabbat Service with Guest Speaker Rabbi Norman Patz

    8:00 pm


  • Saturday, December 2, 2017 - 10:00 am

    Bat Mitzvah of Isabelle Samuel

    10:00 am


  • Friday, December 8, 2017 - 8:00 pm

    Erev Shabbat Service

    8:00 pm


  • Saturday, December 9, 2017 - 9:00 am

    Saturday Morning Tot Shabbat

    9:00 am


  • Saturday, December 9, 2017 - 10:00 am

    Shabbat Morning Service

    10:00 am


  • Friday, December 15, 2017 - 8:00 pm

    Hannukah Shabbat

    8:00 pm


  • Saturday, December 16, 2017 - 10:00 am

    Bat Mitzvah of Marin Furer

    10:00 am


  • Saturday, December 16, 2017 - 10:00 am

    Casual Minyan

    10:00 am


  • Friday, December 29, 2017 - 6:30 pm

    Kabbalat Shabbat Service

    6:30 pm


January 2018

  • Friday, January 5, 2018 - 6:00 pm

    Tot Shabbat & Potluck Dinner

    6:00 pm


  • Friday, January 5, 2018 - 6:30 pm

    Erev Shabbat Service

    6:30 pm


  • Friday, January 12, 2018 - 6:30 pm

    Erev Shabbat Service with Guest Speaker Rabbi Rick Jacobs

    6:30 pm


  • Saturday, January 13, 2018 - 9:00 am

    Saturday Morning Tot Shabbat

    9:00 am


  • Saturday, January 13, 2018 - 10:00 am

    JFJ Shabbat

    10:00 am


  • Friday, January 19, 2018 - 6:30 pm

    Erev Shabbat Service

    6:30 pm


  • Saturday, January 20, 2018 - 10:00 am

    Casual Minyan

    10:00 am


  • Saturday, January 20, 2018 - 10:00 am

    Bar Mitzvah of Jesse Felder-Pfaff

    10:00 am


  • Friday, January 26, 2018 - 6:30 pm

    Kabbalat Shabbat Service

    6:30 pm


February 2018

  • Friday, February 2, 2018 - 6:00 pm

    Tot Shabbat & Potluck Dinner

    6:00 pm


  • Friday, February 2, 2018 - 6:30 pm

    Erev Shabbat Service

    6:30 pm


  • Saturday, February 3, 2018 - 10:00 am

    B'not Mitzvah of Gabrielle and Maya Bubrick

    10:00 am


  • Friday, February 9, 2018 - 6:30 pm

    Erev Shabbat Service

    6:30 pm


  • Saturday, February 10, 2018 - 10:00 am

    Shabbat Morning Service

    10:00 am


  • Friday, February 16, 2018 - 6:30 pm

    Erev Shabbat Service

    6:30 pm


  • Saturday, February 17, 2018 - 10:00 am

    Casual Minyan

    10:00 am


  • Saturday, February 24, 2018 - 10:00 am

    Adult B'nai Mitzvah Ceremony

    10:00 am


  • Tuesday, February 27, 2018 - 10:30 am

    Seniors Group Meeting

    10:30 am


  • Wednesday, February 28, 2018 - 7:00 pm

    Erev Purim: Community Megillah Reading

    7:00 pm


March 2018

  • Friday, March 2, 2018 - 6:00 pm

    Tot Shabbat & Potluck Dinner

    6:00 pm


  • Saturday, March 3, 2018 - 10:00 am

    Bar Mitzvah of Matthew Stubin

    10:00 am


  • Friday, March 9, 2018 - 8:00 pm

    Erev Shabbat Service with Guest Speaker Rabbi Stephen Goodman

    8:00 pm


  • Saturday, March 10, 2018 - 9:00 am

    Saturday Morning Tot Shabbat

    9:00 am


  • Saturday, March 10, 2018 - 10:00 am

    Bar Mitzvah of Lincoln Zaltas

    10:00 am


  • Saturday, March 17, 2018 - 10:00 am

    Bat Mitzvah of Elle Freund

    10:00 am


  • Saturday, March 17, 2018 - 10:00 am

    Casual Minyan

    10:00 am


  • Friday, March 23, 2018 - 8:00 pm

    Membership Shabbat

    8:00 pm


  • Saturday, March 24, 2018 - 10:00 am

    Bar Mitzvah of Jacob Caney

    10:00 am


  • Saturday, March 31, 2018 - 10:00 am

    Pesach Morning Service

    10:00 am


April 2018

  • Friday, April 6, 2018 - 8:00 pm

    Erev Shabbat Service/Yizkor

    8:00 pm


  • Saturday, April 7, 2018 - 10:00 am

    Bat Mitzvah of Maren Shapero

    10:00 am


  • Friday, April 13, 2018 - 8:00 pm

    Erev Shabbat Service with Guest Speaker Rabbi Charles Kroloff

    8:00 pm


  • Saturday, April 14, 2018 - 9:00 am

    Saturday Morning Tot Shabbat

    9:00 am


  • Saturday, April 14, 2018 - 10:00 am

    Bar Mitzvah of Jacob Steinke

    10:00 am


  • Friday, April 20, 2018 - 8:00 pm

    Erev Shabbat Service

    8:00 pm


  • Saturday, April 21, 2018 - 10:00 am

    B'nai Mitzvah Initiative

    10:00 am


  • Saturday, April 21, 2018 - 10:00 am

    Casual Minyan

    10:00 am


  • Friday, April 27, 2018 - 6:30 pm

    Erev Shabbat Service with Guest Rabbis Larry Kushner and Norman Cohen

    6:30 pm


  • Saturday, April 28, 2018 - 10:00 am

    Shabbat Morning Service In Honor of Rabbi Kushner

    10:00 am


May 2018

  • Friday, May 4, 2018 - 6:00 pm

    Tot Shabbat & Potluck Dinner

    6:00 pm


  • Friday, May 4, 2018 - 8:00 pm

    Erev Shabbat Service

    8:00 pm


  • Saturday, May 5, 2018 - 10:00 am

    Shabbat Morning Service

    10:00 am


  • Friday, May 11, 2018 - 8:00 pm

    Erev Shabbat Service with Guest Rabbis Daniel Freedlander and Elyse Frishman

    8:00 pm


  • Saturday, May 12, 2018 - 9:00 am

    Tot Shabbat & Potluck Dinner

    9:00 am


  • Saturday, May 12, 2018 - 10:00 am

    Bar Mitzvah of Kyle Behan

    10:00 am


  • Friday, May 18, 2018 - 8:00 pm

    Confirmation Shabbat

    8:00 pm


  • Saturday, May 19, 2018 - 10:00 am

    Bat Mitzvah of Bianca Poster

    10:00 am


  • Saturday, May 19, 2018 - 10:00 am

    Casual Minyan

    10:00 am


  • Saturday, May 19, 2018 - 7:00 pm

    Tikkun Leil Shavuot

    7:00 pm


  • Sunday, May 20, 2018 - 8:00 pm

    Shavuot: Yizkor Service

    8:00 pm


  • Monday, May 21, 2018 - 10:00 am

    Shavuot Day 2: Yizkor Service

    10:00 am


  • Friday, May 25, 2018 - 6:30 pm

    Erev Shabbat Service

    6:30 pm


  • Saturday, May 26, 2018 - 10:00 am

    Bar Mitzvah of Sander Weinstein

    10:00 am


June 2018

  • Friday, June 1, 2018 - 6:00 pm

    Tot Shabbat & Potluck Dinner

    6:00 pm


  • Saturday, June 2, 2018 - 10:00 am

    Shabbat Morning Service

    10:00 am


  • Saturday, June 9, 2018 - 9:00 am

    Saturday Morning Tot Shabbat

    9:00 am


  • Saturday, June 9, 2018 - 10:00 am

    Bar Mitzvah of Alex Marra

    10:00 am


  • Friday, June 15, 2018 - 8:00 pm

    Graduation Shabbat

    8:00 pm


  • Saturday, June 16, 2018 - 10:00 am

    Bat Mitzvah of Georgia Aishton

    10:00 am


  • Saturday, June 16, 2018 - 10:00 am

    Casual Minyan

    10:00 am


  • Friday, June 22, 2018 - 8:00 pm

    Erev Shabbat Service

    8:00 pm


  • Saturday, June 23, 2018 - 10:00 am

    Bar Mitzvah of Aaron Silverman

    10:00 am


  • Friday, June 29, 2018 - 6:30 pm

    Erev Shabbat Service

    6:30 pm


  • Saturday, June 30, 2018 - 10:00 am

    Rabbi Kushner Tish

    10:00 am


November 2018

  • Saturday, November 3, 2018 - 10:00 am

    Bar Mitzvah of Daniel Jacobson

    10:00 am


Shabbat is the soul of Temple Ner Tamid. Singing and listening to words of Torah, Shabbat is our unique opportunity to draw closer to God and each other.

Erev Shabbat services begin on Friday evenings at 8pm, except for the last Shabbat of each month when we gather for Kabbalat Shabbat at 6:30pm. For families with small children, a monthly Tot Shabbat is held at 6pm on the first Shabbat of each month.

Shabbat morning worship begins at 10am and concludes by noon. On the third Shabbat of each month, members of the congregation gather for the Casual Minyan, a wonderfully informal and participatory service with an in-depth discussion of the weekly Torah portion. Two times per year the entire community comes together for Wake Up Shabbat - an innovative, participatory and musical celebration. It includes separate study opportunities for adults and children, a joyous service and plenty of food. On the second Shabbat of each month there is a family service at 10:30 am, Shalom Shabbat, for families with small children up to grade 2. This service teaches the children about Shabbat and Jewish Holidays through song,dance and stories.

Each month on Rosh Chodesh there is a meaningful service and discussion for our female congregants, age 12 and older beginning at 7:00 pm. They explore spirituality, religious education, ritual, music, art and more.

During the summer months of July and August Shabbat services are led by members of the congregation - Friday evenings at 6:30pm and Saturday mornings at 10am.